Regional Secretariat

The Coral Triangle Initiative on Coral Reefs, Fisheries and Food Security (CTI-CFF) Regional Secretariat (interim) was created during the First CTI-CFF Senior  Officials  Meeting in Bali in December 2007.

It is mandated to promote regional cooperation, sharing of lessons, and facilitate learning across the six Coral Triangle countries - Indonesia, Malaysia, Papua New Guinea Philippines, Solomon Islands and Timor-Leste. The Regional Secretariat also coordinate and monitors the progress in achieving the CTI-CFF Regional Plan of Action goals. Its main activities cover the following areas: organizational development, outreach and communication, regional coordination and mechanisms, technical and thematic working groups, development of key regional reports, and capacity development. It also serves as the main liaison and for all CTI-CFF official functions such as the bi-annual CTI-CFF Senior Officials Meetings and the annual CTI-CFF Ministerial Meetings.  It is based at the Ministry of Marine Affairs and Fisheries in Jakarta, Indonesia.

The permanent Regional Secretariat was officially established with the appointment of the first Executive Director in April 2015, where the headquarter is based in Manado, Indonesia.